Call Or Text Us Anytime 210-756-3553

Your Guide to San Antonio Neighborhoods

Click the button below to connect with a San Antonio Realtor® 

San Antonio Neighborhoods

When we say “Greater San Antonio,” we are referring to the many communities both in and around San Antonio. As the 7th largest city in the US and the second largest city in Texas, San Antonio is constantly growing and absorbing many of the communities around it as it does so. If you look at a map, the city has a spoke and wheel pattern with a central district and two loop roads (410 and 1604) around with large highways intersecting both, and there’s also a 3rd much further outer loop that is now considered a part of Greater San Antonio, too. The Greater San Antonio area is located in the South Texas Plains at the gateway to the Hill Country, with some of the area located in the beautiful Hill Country region itself. At the time of this writing, San Antonio is divided into 10 City Council Districts as well as a large number of communities and metropolitan cities spread across 8 counties. 

What is the population of Greater San Antonio?

The over 1.5 million and growing population lives primarily in San Antonio proper (roughly 1 million), followed next by New Braunfels (just shy of 100k), then Schertz (40k), Timberwood Park (35k), Cibolo (30k) and Seguin (30k). There are another 8 towns and cities with between 10-25k people, roughly 12 towns and cities with populations of 5-10k, and about 30 towns with roughly 1-5k people, and another 11-12 areas with under 1,000 people. In addition, there is a large collection of unincorporated areas of San Antonio with small populations, too. At the rate of population growth, these numbers will be outdated by tomorrow, but you get the general idea of size and scope!

What counties are in San Antonio?

The counties of San Antonio and their relevant cities and towns include:

Atascosa – Charlotte, Jourdanton, Karnes City, Lytle, Pleasanton, Poteet, Somerset 

Bandera – Bandera, Medina, Northside, Utopia

Bexar – Alamo Heights, Boerne, Comal, East Central, Edgewood, Fort Sam Houston, Harlandale, Judson, Lackland, Medina Valley, North East, Northside, Randolph Field, San Antonio, Schertz-Cibolo-Universal City, South San Antonio, Southside, Southwest, Somerset

Comal – New Braunfels, Comal, Boerne

Guadalupe – Seguin, Navarro, Comal, New Braunfels, Schertz-Cibolo-Universal City, Marion, San Marcos Consolidated, Nixon-Smiley Consolidated, Prairie Lea, Luling, La Vernia

Kendall – Boerne, Comfort, Blanco, Comal

Medina – Devine, Hondo, Medina Valley, Natalia, Lytle

Wilson – Floresville, La Vernia, Stockdale, Nixon-Smiley Consolidated, Poth, East Central

How is San Antonio divided up?

For the purpose of understanding neighborhoods, particularly for those relocating and looking to buy a home, the easiest way to understand how San Antonio is divided is into the following general regions:

  • Central – Downtown area, Midtown neighborhoods, Alamo Heights, Southtown
  •  North – Uptown, Far North (Stone Oak, Encino Park and surrounding), northeast (surrounding Randolph AFB) 
  • Northwest – west (inside loop 410 and 1604) and far west (outside 1604)
  • South – Lackland AFB and further south
  • East – east of downtown inside loop 410 and 1604, and the historic Government Hill area


Thinking about making a move?

Get FREE, instant access to search our real estate MLS!